My eternal curse

My dear readers, Halloween is drawing nearer and  this time I therefor want to tell you about a curse. A curse that has afflicted me since I was very young. I can’t remember exactly when I was cursed, but I was.

I have always had a lot of female friends. I have male friends as well, but I think a quick head count quickly show that I am one of “the girls”. And this is where the curse stems from. I have been labeled NICE! This is the gravest accusation that can taint a guy’s life, and potentially ruin it forever. At least in so far as any romantic involvements goes.

You might think being nice is a good thing, and in many ways it is. I don’t want to hurt people, nail kittens to walls, shoot people or terrorize women. You know bad-boy stuff. But, bad boys do get all the fun when it comes to girls too. A girlfriend of mine, as in a friend who is also a girl, once tried to dispute my point. She stopped after I pointed out that she has had two long term relationships during the time we’ve known each other, both, she had to agree, were bad boys. At least when she met them.

I’ve entered into friendships by accident from time to time, because, well, I really wanted something else. But somehow I ended up a GOOD FRIEND; or worse, a NICE guy. It’s death for a young man like me. Instant zombiefactor! Is this at all avoidable? Again, I don’t want to become a jerk. And I don’t mean to stereotype here, but I will, many women seem to prefer idiot men who treat them in dubious ways. Why the F is that?

What I want tips about from you, dear reader, is this: How do you avoid the “nice” label, without treating women and others badly?

Thobias

2 responses to this post.

  1. Ah, but being “nice” is a blessing in disguise! Girls fall for jerks because jerks are assertive. But jerks are also assholes, so the girls don’t stay long unless they’ve got the programming for it (unresolved father issues and whatnot). If you can be nice AND assertive, you’ve got it made.

    Not always, of course – it’s a numbers game right 🙂 In that vein: Befriending a girl is the second best thing to hooking up – how else would you get to meet all her pretty friends?

    Reply

    • I can be assertive. Maybe… I don’t know, what do you think? … 😉

      And yes “Bill”, it’s a numbers game… And in a way, the girl I am thinking of is “one of the pretty friends”… 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

