John Hodgman’s brief digression

As a geek and a ‘Macster’ I of course love John Hodgman, more known to world as PC in the I’m a Mac, I’m a PC commercials, and soon also as Coralines father. Here he is talking at TED, and I have to say, many TEDtalks are interesting, many are moving. But not since Zefrank was there have I enjoyed myself as much as this! Especially the story on Enrico Fermi.

This is good, clean geek fun!

Vodpod videos no longer available.

I have learned that newborn infants roll their eyes around and move their heads and their arms in short jerky spasms. And if you homeschool them, they will stay this way forever.
~ John Hodgman (The Areas of My Expertise) ~


Stories hold power because they convey the illusion that life has purpose and direction. Where God is absent from the lives of all but the most blessed, the writer, of all people, replaces that ordering principle. Stories make sense when so much around us is senseless, and perhaps what makes them most comforting is that, while life goes on and pain goes on, stories do us the favor of ending.

Thobias

Leave a Reply

